Full Circle

Photos from right to left: Sydney 2014 Summit, Japan 2015 Summit, With Farah Mohammed (Founder, Girls20) in Japan after 5 years

I turned 20 with the G(irls)20 summit in Sydney, Australia and it was everything I needed in my quest for a lifelong support network of strong and kind women. The summit very visibly showed me what raising each other up and opening doors of opportunity for others as we climb up means. Most importantly, it was a practice ground to be bold. It helped me find my voice and have the courage to celebrate it. Today as the Steering Committee Vice Chair, I get to work with all 300+ G(irls)20 delegates from the past 10 years to amplify voices, represent diverse lived experiences of young women in G20 policy advocacy and create a feminist face of leadership for our generation. 

This summer, I have the opportunity to join the 10th annual G(irls)20 summit to meet 23 young women from around the world with a deep, fiery passion to advance gender equity in G20 nations and beyond.

Some FAQs:

What is the Steering Committee?

 Operating from 6 different countries, the G(irls)20 Steering Committee provides strategic guidance and input to the G(irls)20 team while working on different projects to leverage the organization and its network of ambassadors. All members are previous delegates who have continued to engage as leaders in their communities.

Where are you?

Tokyo, Japan the host country of the 2019 G20.

What will you be upto?

Along with mentoring the delegates on leadership, policy advocacy and social entrepreneurship I have been supporting the summit programming. I will curate and facilitate two workshops on: 1) Leading Social Impact Initiatives 2) Drafting the policy Communique and strategic policy advocacy. I will also chair the Communique negotiations, including final voting and writing. Follow along for regular updates!

Listen to my journey so far with G(irls)20 with the CEO Heather Barnabe: Be Ambitious For Her

Leave a comment